AGM 2017 June 20


Annual General Meeting on  June 20, 2017

Held at QB Fire Hall

Call to order at 1000 with 24 members in attendance.

Opening: President Dave gave a welcome address and brief review of activities over the past year.

Financial report: Treasurer Rod FB gave the current financial report as follows:

     Previous balance : $1086.94      Balance at  2017-06-20: $1163.94

Memberships:  44 including 40 paid up and 4 honorary members.

Correspondence: Nil

Bylaws update: Secretary Keith TAF reviewed the steps undertaken to update the MIRA bylaws according to the requirements of the 2016 BC Society Act.  An extraordinary resolution was proposed (a) to authorise MIRA to apply for member-funded status and (b) amendments of the bylaws as follows:

Bylaw 22(3) amended to allow proxy voting.

Bylaw 25(1) is changed to read: “The president, vice-president, secretary and treasurer and one other person, or such greater number determined from time at a general meeting shall be the directors of the society.”

Bylaw 25(2) reads: “The number of directors shall be 5 or a greater number determined from time to time at a general meeting.”

Bylaw 26(1) is changed to read “The directors must retire from office at each annual general meeting when their successors are elected,” and Bylaw 26(2) be changed to read: “Separate elections must be held for each office to be filled.”

Bylaw 63 be changed by adding as follows: “Upon winding up or dissolution of this society, the assets which remain after payment of all costs, charges and expenses which are properly incurred in the winding up shall be distributed as determined by the directors.” This provision was previously unalterable.

This resolution was approved with one abstention, thus satisfying the two-thirds majority requirement.

Elections: Tony AJN, Chair of the nominations committee proposed a slate and called for further nominations.

The following were elected by acclamation: President: David Ireland VA7QED; Vice president Len Hooper VE7XLH; Secretary Terry Lyster VA7EDK; Treasurer Rodney Jones VA7FB; Directors Keith Smith VA7TAF; Don Mullis VE7AX; Larry Nixon VE7VJ; Syd Lee VE7PI; Walter Forsyth VA7WGF

Air show: Fred VE7FDQ reported that there are 8 volunteers for this event from MIRA and more are welcome. There will be a pre-event meeting at the airport on July 4.     

Field Day FD2017: Don AX gave an update on the site and proposed layout of stations although these could change but things are looking good for the event. Don is hopeful that there will be visits from media and local politicians.   Porta potty services will be available at the site.

The meeting adjourned at 12:00.

Keith Smith VA7TAF  Secretary.